Guest Post

#GuestPost The Year Of No Rules By Rose McClelland #TheYearOfNoRules @RoseMcClelland1 @CrookedCat

Today I would like to welcome Rose McClelland on my blog, and she has a great post for you all. My review of this book will be coming soon. So, grab yourself a cuppa and enjoy 🙂 Without further ado, here is Rose.

Rules Are Made To Be Broken?

When you hear the word ‘rules’, what’s the first thing you think of? Perhaps it was the rules you were given as a child. Things like: “Don’t stay out too late” or “Keep your room tidy”.

As a child with six siblings, I really don’t know how our parents kept us in line. Fear of getting into trouble, I suppose. I do remember one incident in particular, where my younger brother and I were (literally) playing with fire. We were sticking straws into the toaster and then waving the lit straws around like fireworks. My brother accidentally waved his straw straight at me and my pajamas went in flames! I was running around like a human fireball! Not funny at the time but thank goodness, I came out unscathed. Needless to say, the rule after that was “Don’t touch the toaster!”

We are sure to remember rules our parents or teachers placed on us, but what about the rules we set ourselves? How many of us start out on New Year’s Day with a list of rules/ resolutions under our belt? Rules like:

  • Save money
  • Lose weight
  • Go to the gym more
  • Eat healthy foods

You only need to read your Facebook timeline to see how many other people are setting themselves the same rules. However, how many of these are quickly forgotten and never mentioned again? New Year’s Resolutions are often a distant memory by the time February rolls around.

In my novel “The Year of No Rules”, it is Sasha’s boyfriend Kirk who gives her rules to follow. Demands such as:
“Never raise your voice again.”
“There mustn’t be any conflict.”
“You must not be jealous.”
He even asks her to sign her name underneath to agree to these rules!

This might all sound highly fictional and far from the truth but I do know of one particular real-life relationship where this happened.

Sasha actually tries to abide by these rules, jumping through hoops to try to please her man. She mistakenly believes that if she does everything he asks her to, their relationship will be happy.

What she doesn’t realise is that actually, the opposite is true. The minute she breaks the rules and takes back her independence, her journey takes an unexpected interesting turn.

Boldly becoming a ‘no-rules’ girl, she adopts a feisty and independent approach to dating. Interestingly, the minute she stops playing by the rules, the more attractive she becomes to others. Can Sam, the new man on the scene, tame her independent streak? Or does Kirk come crawling back? Find out what happens when Sasha stops playing by the rules. “The Year of No Rules”.

Book cover pic.jpg

Publisher: Crooked Cat
Genre: Chick Lit
Release date: 17 10 2017
Price*:Kindle £1.99 (GBP)/ Paperback £6.99 (GBP)
Kindle $3.56 (USD)/ Paperback $10.99 (USD)
Free for Kindle Unlimited users!!!
Pages: ~ 276
You can get this book here:
Amazon UK
Book Depository

About the Author:

5805471.jpgRose writes women’s fiction with a splash of romance and comedy. She writes about dating and relationships in a humorous fashion, placing plenty of twists and turns along the way. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes or Sophie Kinsella.

Rose lives in Belfast but divides her time between the sofa and bubble bath. When she’s not writing, she’s reading. It’s a bit of an addiction actually. That, and the chocolate Freddos.

She can often be found on Facebook posting photos and stories about her cat, her cooking or book reviews. She has written a few short plays and finds it a buzz to see actors performing her words on stage.
Website – http://www.crookedcatbooks.com/author-book/rose-mcclelland/
Twitter – @RoseMcClelland1 Facebook – @RoseMcClellandauthor

*-the price was taken from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com at the current date. The price might change at your time of purchase. The links used in this post for book purchases are affiliates.

2 thoughts on “#GuestPost The Year Of No Rules By Rose McClelland #TheYearOfNoRules @RoseMcClelland1 @CrookedCat

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.