Book Reviews

#BookReview The Year Of No Rules By Rose McClelland #TheYearOfNoRules @RoseMcClelland1

Book cover pic.jpg

Thank You very much to the author for the advance review copy.
Publisher: Crooked Cat
Genre: Chick Lit
Release date: 17 10 2017
Price*:Kindle £1.99 (GBP)/ Paperback £6.99 (GBP)
Kindle $3.56 (USD)/ Paperback $10.99 (USD)
Free for Kindle Unlimited users!!!
Pages: ~ 276
My rating: 9/10
You can get this book here:
Amazon UK
Book Depository
What I learned from this book: Listen to your brain and common sense, even if your heart says otherwise.

Description of the book: When Sasha falls in love with Kirk, she can’t believe her luck. He’s gorgeous, charismatic and charming. Within months, he’s even discussing the ‘M’ word – marriage! But there’s one problem: He’s given her a list of rules to sign.

Blindly led by her infatuation (and the fact that she’s been single forever), she agrees to sign it and abide by them – until everything goes horribly wrong.

Picking herself up and moving on boldly as a ‘No Rules’ girl, Sasha goes on a string of disastrous dates, and eventually meets Sam through mutual friends. Not wanting to make the same mistake twice, she keeps him at arm’s length. Can he tame her independent streak? Or will she be able to make Kirk come crawling back?

How this book made me feel: The blurb of this book, describes it quite accurately, however, there is way more to this book. It goes through all the parts of the relationship: love, separation, depression, acceptance and moving on.

The main characters of this book were Sasha and Kirk, later joined by Sam. The whole narrative was told only from Sasha’s perspective, so we have to believe of how Sasha portrayed them and don’t really have an insight into their personalities to judge them ourselves. Even though Sasha was the lead in this story, my favorite character in this book was Sam. I honestly liked him for his charisma, understanding nature, and all women should have a partner like him. Some of Sasha’s actions really annoyed me, it’s like watching a horror movie, where the actress is going to a dark cellar willingly when we know she is going to die. In these cases, I really want to shout to her “danger, don’t go!”/ “don’t be stupid, you are going to die!”, but the actress still does it and gets hurt in the end… Why Sasha? Why?

The whole book was divided into three parts: “The year with rules”; “After Kirk”; “The year of no rules”. In the first part, Sasha was sharing her life with Kirk. How their dates used to go, what Kirk did in the past, and how she loved to spoil him. In the second part, Sasha was telling how she was dealing (or not) with her life after Kirk walked off. She shared he sorrows, memories, and how Kirk was psychologically tormenting her even many months after their break up. (Sasha why did you allow it? WHY?) In the third part, Sasha started to gather her life again, by setting little goals to fight her major depression and finding a fantastic man.

The plot of this novel often jumped between past and present through Sasha’s memories about Kirk and their relationship. What I loved the most about this book, was the topics which McClelland discussed in this book: the danger of controlling partners; forgiving person even after grand betrayal; major depression and how people can fight it; how to deal with broken trust. I think this book can really help women who were/are in Sasha’s situation and need help, I think it could be a guide to taking those first steps to help yourself.

The writing style of this book was pleasant and really easy to read, with short chapters, which made it a great weekend read. It has a nice ending to the book, I would say realistic ending, not “happily ever after” one, which you can read in most fiction books. So, to conclude, even though there are many, many Sasha’s actions which made me question “Woman, why would you do this?”, I loved this book because it is funny, carries a strong message, and how relate-able it can be to some people. I do recommend it to all chick lit fans, and to all who are going through a nasty break up. Enjoy! 🙂

About the Author: Rose McClelland writes women’s fiction with a splash of romance and comedy. She writes about dating and relationships in a humorous fashion, placing plenty of twists and turns along the way. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes or Sophie Kinsella.

Rose lives in Belfast but divides her time between the sofa and bubble bath. When she’s not writing, she’s reading. It’s a bit of an addiction actually. That, and the chocolate Freddos.

She can often be found on Facebook posting photos and stories about her cat, her cooking or book reviews. She has written a few short plays and finds it a buzz to see actors performing her words on stage.
Website – http://www.crookedcatbooks.com/author-book/rose-mcclelland/
Twitter – @RoseMcClelland1 Facebook – @RoseMcClellandauthor

*-the price was taken from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com at the current date. The price might change at your time of purchase. The links used in this post for book purchases are affiliates.

3 thoughts on “#BookReview The Year Of No Rules By Rose McClelland #TheYearOfNoRules @RoseMcClelland1

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.