Blog Tour · Book Reviews

#BlogTour #BookReview Love, And Other Things To Live For By Louise Leverett @ninadouglas @hqstories @louiseleverett #LoveAndOtherThings #LoveOnTour

Today I would like to welcome you all on my stop of the Blog Tour for Love, and Other Things to Live For By Louise Leverett and I would like to share a review, with all of you. Thank you very much to Nina and HQ for the invitation. Please do show some love to all the wonderful book bloggers on this blog tour by following and sharing their work. 🙂

Love And Other Things blog tour cover.jpeg

unnamed.jpgThank You very much to the publisher – HQ for the review copy.
ISBN13: 9780008237035
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Release date: 18 04 2019
Price*: Kindle £3.99 (GBP)/  Paperback £7.99 (GBP)
Kindle $N/A (USD)/ Paperback $8.48 (USD)
Pages: ~ 368
My rating: 8/10
You can get this book here:
Amazon UK
Book Depository
What I learned from this book: You need to work hard to reach your dreams.

Description of the book: Jessica Wood is an aspiring photographer living in London. She’s had her heart broken, and her friends have pieced it back together again.

But across the neon lights of Soho, in the smell of alcohol and cigarette smoke, on every night bus, in every song, every time she tries to forget: she remembers him.

Now, in a battle between the past and the future, choosing between having a life and making a living, finding her feet or spreading her wings, Jessica must ask herself: who is she really living for?

Love and Other Things to Live For is an ode to modern girls and triumph over heartbreak, perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Dolly Alderton.

How this book made me feel: I really needed this kind of book at the moment, my mind was very tired of thrillers. This was a very refreshing and inspiring reading experience. 🙂

The protagonist in this book is Jess, a struggling photographer, heartbroken after separation from her boyfriend, she is trying to piece her life together with the help of an amazing group of friends. I really liked Jess’s friends, they are very believable but at the same time supportive and amusing personalities. I have mixed opinion about Jess, I liked her character and her determination, but at the same time, her decisions didn’t make sense to me sometimes, especially when it comes to men.

The narrative of this novel sounds quite realistic, and I was engrossed in Jess’s journey and her struggles. I really liked that the plot was not just plodding along, telling the events of Jess’s daily life, but the author threw in some interesting turns and different perspectives to shed more light on all the events happening in the book. It allowed to know more about Jenny’s friends and how they feel in different situations. The topics discussed in this book were love, friendships, hard work, heartbreak, dreams, self-growth, etc.

I really liked the writing style of this novel, it would feel like chick lit story sometimes, but the author incorporated her little analyses of different life topics, that made the whole book richer and more sophisticated. The chapters felt quite long at times, but the story itself didn’t leave me bored. I really liked the ending of this book, it was unexpected but rounded up this story very nicely.

So, to conclude, this was a very refreshing and indulgent book, filled with realistic, believable characters and difficult life choices, perfect for everyone who suffers after a breakup or anyone who struggles to accomplish their goals. This book gave me an energy boost, and I hope it will lift your spirit as well. Enjoy!

Thank you for your time 🙂

Logopit_1546811675215_2.jpg

A1Iq2RhdX-L._SY200_.jpgAbout the author: Louise Leverett graduated from Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts in London on a full scholarship before moving on to study at the Lee Strasberg Institute of Film in New York.

Since establishing her own business ‘Rock the Tribes’ she is now working on a collection of writings that will eventually be turned into adaptations for the screen.

Website: http://www.rockthetribes.com / Twitter: @louiseleverett

*-the price was taken from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com on the current date. The price might change at the time of your purchase. The links used in this post for book purchases are affiliates.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.