Book Reviews

#BookReview #Comics #GraphicNovel Negalyod: The God Network by Vincent Perriot

Thank You very much to the publisher – Titan Comics for the review copy.
ISBN13: 978-1787734708
Genre: Comics / Graphic Novel
Release date: 19 07 2022
Price*: Kindle £26.21 (GBP)/  Paperback £27.59 (GBP)
Kindle $31.57 (USD)/ Paperback $25.30 (USD)
Pages: ~ 208
My rating: Really liked it.
You can get this book here:
Amazon UK
Bookshop.org
Titan Comics Website

Description of the book: Negalyod follows a dinosaur shepherd, Jarri, as he joins a rebel group intent on destroying the totalitarian government that controls his dystopian world. Perfect for fans of Jurassic World!

Dinotopia meets Mad Max in this extraordinary saga of futuristic human survival on a scorched Earth- Jeff Spry, SciFi Wire In a post-apocalyptic far future/alternate world, dinosaurs roam the desolate land, while the last denizens of humanity survive together in technological cities run by a military regime. Jarri, a loner who shepherds a group of dinosaurs, travels to the city when his herd is murdered. There he becomes involved with a rebel group who defy the totalitarian society, and uncovers a conspiracy that reveals the true nature of the world they live in. What he finds will change his life forever… Written and illustrated in lavish detail by ground-breaking author Vincent Perriot, this stunning graphic novel will make you think twice about reality.

How this book made me feel: I said it multiple times, but I love illustrated books, but especially I love comics, the amount of work that goes into every single picture is insane, so to hold such a masterpiece in my hands is a true honour. 🙂

As per the description, this book follows Jarri, a dinosaur shepherd. His whole flock gets killed by Network, so Jarri decides to destroy the Network. During his quest, he meets a rebel group that shares the same interests. I really liked Jarri, he can speak with dinosaurs, he has great survival skills, he is very brave but at the same time, he is a bit silly and seems a little stupid. 😀 All the characters in this book are interesting and intriguing and I enjoyed their adventures.

I liked the narrative of this book, it is fast-paced, filled with a lot of action and adorable dinosaurs. The topics were loneliness and looking for love, world domination by one mechanism, betrayal etc. The whole book is set in a dystopian world where dinosaurs and men live alongside, the whole area is a desert because all the water is controlled by the Network. The illustrations are absolute divine, and the whole book is a beautiful work of art. There are no chapters in this book, the story just flows taking you on an epic adventure.

So, to conclude, it is a beautiful book, filled with unique characters and a plot that is very fast-paced and filled with adventures and dinosaurs. I loved all the artwork in this novel and I will treasure this book forever. 🙂 I hope you will read it as well and will love it as much as I did. 🙂
Thank you for your time ❤

About the author: Vincent Perriot is an award-winning author and illustrator from France. He studied at the School of Fine Arts in Angouleme, and then went on to contribute to Editions de la Cerise, before publishing his own works. After moving to Paris, Vincent collaborated on the illustrations of the animated film le Chat du Rabbin, by Joann Sfar, and also adapted Belleville Story into a comic. His numerous awards include the Great Golden Squirrel at the Angouleme festival in 2001; the Young Talent Prize at the Angouleme festival in 2005; the Young Comics Talent Prize in 2009; and most recently in 2019, the Saint-Michel Prize for Negalyod.

*-the price was taken from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com on the current date. The price might change at the time of your purchase. The links used in this post for book purchases are affiliates.

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.